My third day of training!

This is the third day of my training for the GX 5k fun run. The goal is to raise money to help to find a cure for cystic fibrosis. The secondary goal is for me to get fit and lose a bit of weight. This necessarily entails a whole range of subsidiary goals, like getting through the day without eating my son’s left-over Easter eggs or convincing myself that running to the Tesco Metro for a flake is a good exercise in calorie off-setting.

So here goes. I would like to say we were late for school because of all  of Jensen’s medical treatments. But I would be lying. We were late because the lazy little tike wouldn’t get up. Physio was administered in situ under his duvet.

This running has a couple of unexpected benefits though. First, Jensen is keen to race me to school. Secondly, it should, in theory, allow me to make a sharp exit and to escape from the shame of being habitually and incorigibly late. Useful on a day like today when I had to retrieve the bag of wet tracksuit and underpants, which I should have picked up Friday, from his coat peg.

Besides, I have this hope that building exercise into my daily routine will work where expensive gyms have failed (I relinquished my membership of the Oasis because I spent more time in the bar with a protein smoothy watching East Enders than in the gym itself).

Three days in and, though it’s too early to tell, it seems to be working. From school,  I ran back down Amersham Hill and through the graveyard (by which  time I was walking, out of respect to the dead you understand). Home in twenty minutes and it was at least an hour before I went downstairs to make a cup of tea and to lick the crumbs of banana bread off Jensen’s plate. Long may it continue and sustain me through lunch and beyond.

About sarahhillwheeler

Mother, lawyer, fund-raiser, lover of chocolate, coffee and all things beautiful, reluctant exerciser, loves reading, thinking and sleeping.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My third day of training!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

