Just another rainy day in Swindon

I awoke when Ian’s alarm went off (i.e. hideously early, around 5.30am).

I tried (and failed) to ignore the shock of sunlight streaming in through the windows and go back to sleep. Instead, I bumbled around, staring at all the cardboard boxes and ineffectually reordering my spice rack in the vain hope that it would create more space in the dolls’ house size kitchen cupboards.

After my now-routine argument with Jensen over physio, we went to Kidz About play centre in the Old Renault building. J has been angling to go for some time and (after a feeling of being crushed in the ever decreasing walls of the cottage) I was craving light, air and space and so gave in.

Light, air and space, of course, come at a price.Lots and lots of background noise. Screaming children and a bump-bump boom-boom beat, which makes conversation and concentration impossible. But, on the plus side, they do a mean Starbucks.

Jensen made some friends, two boys reduced to tears and Jensen in a state of profound confusion as he couldn’t choose between them – my attempt at mediation a limited success and everyone happy again (except for me as I was running low on caffiene and my ears were still being assulted).

Now trying to catch-up on some work as J watches the Simpsons (again).

About sarahhillwheeler

Mother, lawyer, fund-raiser, lover of chocolate, coffee and all things beautiful, reluctant exerciser, loves reading, thinking and sleeping.
This entry was posted in swindon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

